Interesting facts about ESL One Cologne

The ESL One: Cologne 2019 kicks off on July 2nd. The championship will be played at the Lanxess-Arena in Cologne, Germany. It holds a total prize pool of $ 300,000 which will be contested by 16 top tier teams from across the globe. This will be the sixth edition of the competition, since it started back in 2014. Let’s have a look at some interesting facts about the competition.

Where it all began

Inaugurated in 2014, ESL One: Cologne was the third Major in the history of CS: GO. The event brought unusual elements to the competitive circuit. Like the introduction of the random distribution of teams in the group stage and two new maps: Cobblestone and Overpass. ESL has been in charge of the tournament since its inception. It is also a renowned producer of esports tournaments such as: Dota 2, Rainbow Six: Siege, Clash Royale and Brawl Stars

In 2014, the 16 ranked teams came with two statuses. The Legends won direct tickets to the second phase for finishing in the top 8 of the IWC Katowice. Meanwhile, the Challengers had to make their way through the qualifiers in: North America, Europe, India and Oceania. In the group stage, the teams faced each other in a double elimination system. The eight finalists played in a best of three series (BO3) to be crowned the champion.

The most successful countries

Sweden and Brazil are tied with two ESL One: Cologne titles. The Swedes won the title in 2014 with Ninjas in Pajamas, the lineup included: Patrik “f0rest” Lindberg, Christopher “GeT_RiGhT” Alesund, Richard “Xizt” Landström, Robin “Fifflaren” Johansson and Adam “friberg” Friberg. The second title came in 2015 with the Fnatic represented by: de Jesper “JW” Wecksell, Robin “flusha” Rönnquist, Markus “pronax” Wallsten, Olof “olofmeister” Kajbjer and Freddy “KRIMZ” Johansson.

In 2016, SK Gaming was crowned the champion, it consisted of: Gabriel “FalleN” Toledo, Fernando “fer” Alvarenga, Marcelo “coldzera” David, Lincoln “fnx” Lau and Epitácio “TACO” Melo. The team won its next title in 2016, with João “felps” Vasconcellos in the cast.

2x champion Brazil

Two of Brazil’s most iconic titles in CS: GO came from ESL One: Cologne. In 2016, SK Gaming campaigned victorious, with no defeat in the group stage. In the playoffs, the Brazilians beat Flipside Tactics and to secure a spot in the final. The team defeated Team Liquid 3-0 and won the title. In 2017, SK had a modest campaign, ranking sixth in the group stage. In the playoffs, the team was victorious against the OpTic Gaming and FaZe Clan. The final was against Cloud9 ,which they won with a 3-0 victory.

The MVPs of Cologne

Five players truly stood out as the MVPs of the tournament. Friberg was the star of 2015 with 1.14 Rating and flusha the highlight of 2016 with 1.38. Aleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev, MVP of 2018, had the same rating as MIBR’s coldzera, 1.37. FalleN, MVP of 2017, had 1.24, 263 kills, 78.9 of damage / round.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eSports betting sites 2019
5.0 rating
1Xbet: Get Weekly cash backs + eSports bonus calendar.
4.8 rating Get €100 bonus cash
4.5 rating Get €100 bonus cash
5.0 rating Get €100 bonus cash
4.5 rating Get €100 bonus cash
Recent Comments